top of page

BIRTH



I use this word every single day. It’s potentially the most important word of all. It's from where all things begin and for me, this year has been the birth of many things. My business has taken some huge turns and to say it's been easy to navigate would be a lie! But I have also enjoyed this roller coaster, which is still continuing and I'm excited by what the next turn brings. Today is the start of something I have been working on for the last few months. It’s something that means so much to me and is at the core of my heart. I am such a lucky girl to be able to do a job I love and that's why, this year is no exception. However to do that job in conjunction with one of the highest profile sporting companies in the world has just made this even bigger. Not because of who they are, but because of what it's about - Motherhood.


Ever since I became pregnant it has been my fitness focus. 16 years ago when I had my first child, and even up until fairly recently, Exercise and Pregnancy has never been seen as something that could be of interest to anyone other than pregnant mums and then, only the few that might want to be active. I've had business ideas on the subject shunned, book deals turned down and had to fight tooth and nail to get videos distributed. Suddenly I feel this overwhelming feeling of immense calm and also support. I am so grateful to the team at Nike and individuals who put me forward - You know who you are! Thank you for listening to me and others in this field and for giving us Mums centre stage! Nike knows that birth is a central topic for everyone. We all take birth for granted, we all take what it means to be a mother for granted. Finally, thanks to opportunities like this, women are being given the freedom to speak out, gain knowledge and most importantly get the support they deserve. We still have a long way to go. We need far more research, which is just one of the reasons why I launched The Powerful Pregnancy last year.


The Powerful Pregnancy is currently a free program on Youtube. It's completely in its infancy but I know it's going to grow - just don't currently know how! It’s already been supported by Sports England’s ‘This Mum Moves’ campaign, and is starting to capture the attention of 1000’s of women. I know it's important and one of my clients who I met today for the first time since lock down, demonstrated to me just why. Having to go through most of her labour on her own (due to covid restrictions) it was the belief in herself, in her strength and her power, that helped to get her through. THIS IS IMPORTANT. As Nike launch their Motherhood range of clothing and start a campaign that puts pregnant women and mothers as the pinnacle of what it means to be an athlete (Something I've been banging on about for the last 16 years!) I just know that, as they say - The Time is Now! So my pregnant mama’s , postnatal, mama’s of 2 year olds, 20 year olds and more! It’s time to come out and take the applause, YOU bloody deserve it.


If you like to Run, please do download the Nike Run Club (NRC) App. I have recorded with the Nike Global Team’s lead Coach, Chris Bennett a series of Guided runs on Pregnancy. These are not designed for pregnant women alone, they are designed for everyone. EVERYONE needs to know about BIRTH - you simply wouldn't be here without it. The guided runs can be done as a walk - just download the NRC app, stick your head phones on and have a listen while on the move.


If you would like to join me for classes this week - we have expanded our timetable! We now have an in-studio MamaFit class on Mondays plus an evening Fundamentals Pilates on Tuesday evenings at 7pm - this is a great complement to any sports man or woman and if you are postnatal or injured, this is your space. We also have a brand new 30 minute range of In-Studio and Live Streamed classes at lunch times! Join me either in the studio or from home on Wednesday at 12.20pm for a Circle Fit Class or 12.45pm for a Pilates Flow. AND to top it all - I feel like giving you all a discount! So please use the code BIRTH10 to get 10% off of all block bookings. Also look out for our Catch Up classes which means even more opportunities to get your workouts done. If you would like to know more about our membership (which works out cheapest) please contact Caroline on caroline@body-a-wake.com or head to our Timetable page. If you are joining us for the first time, your first class is FREE.


Dedicating this post to The Powerful Pregnancy girls (in the picture above) and all of my Mama's who have gone through Birth this Year. Thank you for inspiring me every day.


Jane x


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page